The Big Picture: Representing Our Climate-Altered World On-Screen

Natural Resources Defense Council

Date: Jan 24th

Join NRDC's Rewrite the Future at the 2023 Sundance Film Festival on January 24, 2023 at 11 a.m. PT / 12 p.m. MT / 1 p.m. CT / 2 p.m. ET for The Big Picture: Representing Our Climate-Altered World On-Screen. The event will feature Roxane Gay (author of Bad Feminist, Difficult Women, Hunger, and the Marvel Comic World of Wakanda) in conversation with Franklin Leonard (founder and CEO of the Black List).

Topics will include the creative opportunities, challenges, and pitfalls of climate representation across genres and the potential of storytelling to shift culture narratives, build social movements, and inspire action.

Presented in collaboration with the Sundance Institute, Variety, Writers Guild of America East, Writers Guild of America West and YEA! Impact.
Registration is required for this free virtual event. Reserve your tickets today: https://on.nrdc.org/3FLmlLC

Participant Biographies:
Roxane Gay is a writer, professor, editor, and social commentator. She is a contributing New York Times opinion writer, author of the books Bad Feminist, Difficult Women, Hunger, and World of Wakanda for Marvel. She is working on several television and film projects and has a newsletter and podcast.
Franklin Leonard is a film and television producer, cultural commentator, and entrepreneur. He is the founder and CEO of the Black List. He is a contributing editor at Vanity Fair and the recipient of the 2019 Writers Guild of America East Evelyn Burkey award for elevating the honor and dignity of screenwriters.

Event Website

RSVP Information

Registration is required for this free virtual event. Reserve your tickets today: https://on.nrdc.org/3FLmlLC

RSVP

Ticket Price: $0.00

Return to Calendar

Details

Virtual

When: January 24th

Time: 11:00 am

End Time: 12:30 pm

Price Range: Free

Stand Out Events